|

STORY: Clockwork vs. The Spider.
written on Friday, Jun. 20, 2003

Before I started playing ice hockey (yes, me, playing ice hockey), I would make little highlight reels of my guy's games. Primarily, when he was on the ice and doing cool sheit.

So my guy wanted to play in the second game, so he gave me his jersey to hang on to. Well, I need both hands to take pretty pictures, so I needed to drop the jersey somewhere. One of the ice places' maintenance guys had been doing a lot of cleaning, so the benches that are normally there, weren't.

So I go to toss the jersey on the floor (it would have gotten washed the next day, anyway), and narrowly missed a big, curled up spider! Eep!

Well, it startled me, because: 1. I was so close to it, and 2. I almost threw the jersey on it, and it would have probably gotten tossed on me! Gross!

The funny thing about that dead spider is -- for whatever reason -- I had a sneaking suspicion it was not dead. I don't know, it just seemed.. a little too perfectly dead? It was on its back with its legs all curled up. But I was not convinced that it was dead. Furthermore, I was too scared to kick it and see if it was still alive.

So some guy comes up to me, and I start talking about this spider. It was pretty clear that I was on-edge (haha! no pun intended) about this spider, so he kicked it a little.

And that fucking sneaky bastard of a spider moved.

Now, I grew up a tomboy, and I was pretty tough. I had even figured that I was pretty much over my fear of spiders, with the exception of being startled by one.

I immediately proceed to start hopping around and shrieking, "kill it! Kill it! Kill it!" as if I were one of those ladies in cartoons who stand on chairs at the first sign of a mouse.

Well, the guy didn't really want to kill it, but he realized how much this was actually bothering me and that I wasn't playing. So he killed it. My hero.

I was pretty much totally embarrassed afterwards. I told my guy the story, to which he proclaims, "you're a girl."

Damn right, I am. Rawr. :P

1 comments so far

|

Last Five Entries:

PUNNY: Lumberjack Dog.
Monday, Jan. 02, 2006

WORKPLACE: New work story!
Tuesday, May. 11, 2004

RANDOM: And another thing.
Monday, Dec. 29, 2003

LETTER: Reception staff.
Monday, Dec. 22, 2003

PONDERING: Sports.
Friday, Dec. 05, 2003


navigation
current
archives
random
rings
profile
website
contact
notes
guestbook
aim
thanks
readers
design
diaryland

notes: (log in)



Powered by JapaneseStreets.com

corange's Last.fm Weekly Artists Chart